back to knowledgebase

How can I customise my OpenCRM solution? How can I change screen design settings for my Users? How do I reorder the Modules listed in the Jump To menu to better reflect how we need to use OpenCRM? How do I turn modules on and off in OpenCRM? How do I change which modules are displayed for different users or groups of users?

Rated 4.50 starRated 4.50 starRated 4.50 starRated 4.50 starRated 4.50 star Updated: 12 March 2019 15:31:00 OpenCRM::Home OpenCRM::Settings OpenCRM::Settings::Users OpenCRM::Settings::Custom Fields

There are many different ways of Customising your OpenCRM solution. Much of this customisation can be done at Global, Group (or Team) or individual User level. This enables you to set up and run OpenCRM in a manner which suits your organisation's needs best, allowing you to set different levels of security, access to data or the ability to edit, import and export records.

In this guide we will look at the following:

  • How to edit the options in the Jump to and Quick Create menus in the sidebar
     
  • How to edit the FIELDS within each module in OpenCRM
     
  • How to change the HOME screen in OpenCRM

As we are covering a wide range of functions within this one document, we will be referring you to other FAQ documents for detailed instuctions on how to carry out your customisation.

How to edit the options in the Jump to and Quick Create sidebar menus

These options link you to the various modules such as Contacts, Quotes, HelpDesk and more.

Your OpenCRM solution may only use a small number of modules that are available. You are able to select which modules are displayed as well as selecting the order in which they appear on your screen. Hiding the modulesfrom display does not delete them, and they can be restored to your display at any time.

You have two options when it comes to disabling modules for your users:

  1. Disable access GLOBALLY
  2. Disable access for specific GROUPS of users

Option 1: Disable Access Globally

To remove the main tabs (modules) from the display for ALL users you need to follow these steps;

  • Select SETTINGS (top right)
  • Under the STUDIO panel select CUSTOMISE MENUS
  • "Selected Modules" are those that will be visible within your Jump to and Quick Create menus (depending on  your permissions)
  • Simply drag and drop from Selected to Available to remove a module for ALL users.
  • You can also change the order of your modules by moving them around in the Selected list.
  • Once you're finished, click the SAVE button

You will need to refresh to see the changes.

Using the same drag and drop function, you can also turn modules back on.

Alternatively, you will also be able to decide which modules you would like to see, at a global level, via the set up wizard. You can access this by going to Settings -> Configuration block and clicking on Setup Wizard.

 All you have to do is untick those modules you do not wish to see.

 

Option 2: Disable access for specific groups of users

You can also set modules to be enabled (or disabled) for particular groups of users, by changing their PROFILE. 

You should first set up PROFILES for the different types of users you need within OpenCRM. If you aren't sure how to do this, take a look at this FAQ.

When you are editing a PROFILE the first column display a tick box labelled ALLOW - by deselecting this all users who are associated with this PROFILE will not have access to the module. 

When they log out and log back into OpenCRM the tab will no longer be displayed.

 

Just for clarity, the opposite is true, when you select this tick box, all users of this PROFILE will be able to gain access to this module and it will appear in their Jump to and Quick Create menus. 

 

How to edit the FIELDS within each module in OpenCRM

Each module contains a number of fields. There are a number of standard fields which are fairly self-explanatory.

You may find your organisation needs to add more fields to any module or for simplicity you wish to have fields turned off, or listed in a different order. This is all easily done within OpenCRM.

How to change the HOME screen in OpenCRM

The Home screen shows data relevant to each User and their Group or Team. This can typically include data such as Current Open Opportunities, Activities, Invoices Due and so on.

You can select whether to have the information displayed in one or two columns. This is to help provide you with an optimised visualisation of your page depending on your screen size. You can also rearrange the Home screen elements to display the information you require. For more details on how to do this please refer to this FAQ.

You can also add statistics to the Key Metrics display on the homepage, this is done by adding a particular view of records to Key Metrics. Please refer to this FAQ (with video) on how to create a custom view.

 

 

 

 

Rate This Article
  • 1 star
  • 2 star
  • 3 star
  • 4 star
  • 5 star
Feedback and Comments
captcha code  


You may also be interested in: