back to knowledgebase

How to give full ownership rights of the record to more than one User on Contacts and Companies?

Updated: 24 October 2019 11:45:23 OpenCRM::Settings::Users

You can give multiple users full ownership rights to any Contact or Company record in two ways:

1. Using the Linked Users Field

2. Using the Users sub-tab

Linked Users Field

Linked Users field is a multi-select user field and this field works the same way as any other multi-select field in your OpenCRM system. To add users to the list, you will need to click on the icon that appears next to the field first and then on the next screen you can see list of users that are set up in your OpenCRM system on your left, select the users that you would like to add as record owners and move them to the right column.

Note: Linked User field is turned off by default and automatically appears when you turn on the "Update user sub tab from linked users field - Contacts (Companies)" setting AND when you enable the field in Default Organisation Field Access for the appropriate module . When this setting is enabled it will add users specified in the Linked User field to the Users sub tab on Save of the record.

Change Owner

How to change Linked Users values using the Change Owner function.

  1. Select the record(s) you want to reassign by ticking the box to the left of each record
  2. Click the Change Owner button at the bottom of the screen
  3. On the next screen you are able to Replace, Append or Remove users from the Linked Users field.
    Add the users that you would like to replace, append or remove into the Select Linked Users field first and then choose action from the Action field.

     
  4. To change Assigned To values, select user from the Select New Owner drop down list.
  5. Click Update when you are done.

Users Sub-Tab

You can also have multiple users linked to a record using the users subtab, which can also be used to give full ownership rights. This feature, however, will not allow you to use the Change Owner button. 

How to Enable the features

 To enable one or both of these features, you will need to go to: Settings -> Additional Settings -> Security and tick the appropriate boxes.

Update user sub tab from linked users field setting

When this setting is enabled it will automatically add the users that are in the Linked users field into the Users sub tab on Save of the record.
It will also turn on the Linked Users field on the Contact and Company record and make the Select Linked Users and Action fields visible on the Change Owner page.

Update the Assigned To field with the first linked user

You are able to hide the Assigned To field on the Contact and Company record if you would like to use Linked Users field instead of Assigned To field. By turning this setting on, the first user that appears in the Linked User field is added to the "Assigned To" field on Save of the record.

Enabled full access to linked Users

This is the core setting, turning this on will change the permissions on the contact / company records so a user linked via the User Sub Tab will have the same permission as if they were Assigned To on the record (giving them full ownership rights of the record).

 

Note: Select Linked Users and Action fields are visible on the Change Owner screen only when the "Update user sub tab from linked users field" setting is turned on. Additionally if you turn on the "Update the Assigned To field with the first linked user" setting, it will automatically hide the Select New Owner on the Change Owner screen.

Note: Linked Users does not appear on the mapping screen therefore all entries will need to be done manually.

 

Rate This Article
  • 1 star
  • 2 star
  • 3 star
  • 4 star
  • 5 star
Feedback and Comments
captcha code  


You may also be interested in: